

APPOINTED DIRECTOR CONFIRMATION

The Board has one Appointed Director vacancy, with the Nominations and Selection Committee undertaking a recruitment process this year to identify an appropriate non-member Director for appointment to the Board under clause 33.2 and 33.5 of the Constitution.

The recruitment saw a strong field of 10 candidates apply, with some truly excellent candidates with significant governance, strategy and board experience wanting to join the College Board.

The Nominations and Selection Committee selected Angus Armour and made recommendation to the Board to appoint him. The Board appointed Angus Armour in July 2022 on an initial term through to the 2023 AGM.

The Corporations Act requires the confirmation of Board appointed Directors at the AGM.

Angus Armour - FAICD, FFIN

Profile

Experienced CEO and Director with international experience across roles in financial institutions, the public and private sectors, as well as developing member-focused strategy and overseeing risk and finance in member-based organisations nationally and internationally.



Current roles

2022 – current	Director, Australasian College of Paramedicine
2017 – current	Founder and Director, SwimThing
2011 – current	Non-Executive Director, European Australian Business Council

Former non-executive roles

2014 – 2017	Non-Executive Director, Committee for Economic Development of Australia
2003 – 2013	Executive Director, Export Finance & Insurance Corporation
2009 – 2013	Non-Executive Director, International Union of Credit & Investment Insurers
2011 – 2013	Non-Executive Director, Foundation for the NSW Historic Houses Trust
2003 – 2006	Ex Officio Non-Executive Director, Austrade

Former executive roles

2017 – 2022	Executive Director, Australian Institute of Company Directors
2015 – 2017	Principal Advisor, Innovation Policy & Research Commercialisation, Business Council of Australia
2013 – 2015	Deputy Secretary Department of Industry, NSW Trade and Investment
2003 – 2013	Managing Director and CEO, Export Finance & Insurance Corporation
1002 2002	Maniana and in a contract finance) Francet Finance O Income

1993 – 2003 Various senior roles (i.e. GM, Export Finance), Export Finance & Insurance Corporation

Professional associations

Fellow	Australian Institute of Company Directors
Fellow	Financial Services Institute of Australasia

Education

1985	Bachelor of Arts (Honours Economics), Queen's University, Canada
1987	Masters of Business Administration (MBA), Queen's University, Canada
2001	Advanced Management Program, Wharton Business School, University of Pennsylvania, USA
2003	Graduate, Australian Institute of Company Directors
2011	Strategic Management in Banking Program, INSEAD, France

MEMBER DIRECTOR ELECTION

The College Board is made up of six elected Member Directors and three non-member Appointed Directors. Directors are usually elected or appointed on 3-year terms, which are staggered, meaning each year two member Directors positions are up for election.

The Board, as detailed in the Constitution, has assigned the selection and appointment of Directors to the independent Nominations and Selection Committee. The Nominations and Selection Committee ensures the College has a balanced and appropriately skilled board of directors to deliver a strong and successful College for members.

The Nominations and Selection Committee comprises:

- Mark McCoy (chair) experienced company director and governance expert
- Peter Lang College Fellow, paramedic educator, former College director with over 10 years' service on the board
- Namoi Dougall lawyer, experienced director, and senior executive
- Liz Schenke human resources expert

The Nominations and Selection Committee has identified the ideal mix of skills required on the College board. This is detailed in the College's skills matrix with identified skills required of the directors, e.g., strategy, policy development, risk, governance etc. The skills matrix is reviewed each year and highlights the skills required of directors individually and collectively for successful leadership of the College.

Under the College Constitution, all director nominations go through a consistent review process undertaken by the Nominations and Selection Committee to ensure they meet the skills requirements of the board.

There are two (2) Member Director roles becoming vacant at this annual general meeting, with Simone Haigh and Marty Nichols standing for re-election. The Nominations and Selection Committee have undertaken their role in accordance with the Constitution and have recommended Simone and Marty to the members for re-election.

With two Members standing for two Director positions, members will vote to elect Simone and Marty for 3-year terms.

Simone Haigh ASM – FACPara

Profile

Experienced Intensive Care Paramedic and clinical leader within Ambulance Tasmania, having undertaken roles as branch officer and clinical educator.



Current roles

2011 – current	Intensive Care Paramedic, Ambulance Tasmania
2009 – current	Clinical Tutor (casual), University of Tasmania
Previous roles	
2009 – 2020	Branch Station Officer ICP, Paramedic Educator (ICP), Clinical Support Officer, Paramedic, Ambulance Tasmania

- 2005 2009 Student Ambulance Officer, Ambulance Tasmania
- 2005 2005 Manager, McDonald's Australia

Board / Committee Experience

2019 – current	Director, Vice Chair (2019-2020), Australasian College of Paramedicine
2022 – current	President, Ambulance Executive Sub-branch, Health & Community Services Union
2020 – current	Chair, Awards and Recognition Committee (ACP)
2021 – current	Chair, Paramedicine Future Working Group (ACP)
2014 – 2020	Director, Vice President (2017-2020), Paramedics Australasia
2016 – 2020	Assistant Secretary, National Council of Ambulance Unions

Qualifications

2003	Bachelor of Human Movement (Exercise Physiology)
2009	Associate Degree in Paramedic Studies
2018	Graduate Diploma in Advanced Paramedicine (ICP/ECP)

Martin Nichols – FACPara

Profile

Paramedic with over 22 years of experience in frontline clinical service delivery in a state-based Ambulance Service, covering traditional ambulance response, frontline manager, single response, special operations, aeromedical, clinical services and now senior management.



Current roles

2021 – current	Associate Director Clinical Practice, NSW Ambulance
2005 – current	Specialist Paramedic, NSW Ambulance
2013 – current	Adjunct Lecturer, Charles Sturt University (Bathurst)
Previous roles	
~~~~	

2000 - 2021	Critical Care Paramedic Educator, Station Officer, Acting Zone Manager,
	Rescue Operator and Special Operations Team, NSW Ambulance
2019 – 2021	Senior Clinical Lecturer, Faculty of Medicine, The University of Sydney
2014 – 2018	Lecturer, Charles Sturt University (Bathurst)
2011 – 2015	Registered Nurse (casual), Orange Hospital (NSW Health)

#### **Board / Committee Experience**

2019 – current	Director, Vice Chair (2020-current), Australasian College of Paramedicine
2019 – current	Practitioner Member, Paramedic Accreditation Committee, Ahpra
2013 – 2020	Director, Chair (2015-2020) and Vice Chair (2014-2015), Australian and New Zealand College of Paramedicine

### Qualifications

2003	Bachelor of Health Science (PreHospCare)
2004	Graduate Certificate Aeromedical Retrieval
2008	Bachelor of Nursing
2012	Master of Health Science
2013	Master of Business Administration (Public Sector Mgt)
2014	Graduate Certificate Acute Care Nursing
2016	Graduate Certificate Clinical Education