Australian Prehospital Emergency Health Research Forum

The APEHRF is a collaboration between:

  • Monash University Department of Community Emergency Health and Paramedic Practice (DCEHPP)
  • Australian College of Ambulance Professionals (ACAP)

APEHRF is collaboration between DCEHPP and ACAP for the purposes of establishing, promoting and ensuring rigorous contemporary standards in the collection, presentation and publication of prehospital emergency paramedical research.

The major prize awarded annually is the Dr David Komesaroff award sponsored by Medical Developments International (MDI). This sponsors the winning paper for the year to travel to either of the other emergency health research forums (in the US or UK) to present their paper to an international audience.

At a short function following the ACAP Victorian Chapter meeting held on Thursday 25 March 2010 the awards were presented to the 2008 & 2009 winners.

ACAP was privileged to have MDI represented by Mr Tony Christmas, and Dr Harry Oxer. Moreover, ACAP was humbled to have Jenny Komesaroff also attend the event and to make the presentations to the two recipients on behalf of the Komesaroff family.

The recipients were:

  • 2008 – Deb Kerr, for her paper on intranasal naloxone for opiate overdose
  • 2009 – Mal Boyle, for his paper on ethical considerations in prehospital practice

Alan Eade (Vice President) presented a plaque on behalf of ACAP to both Jenny Komesaroff and to MDI in recognition of their outstanding sponsorship of the APEHRF major award and ACAP, taking the opportunity to thank both the Komesaroff family and MDI for their generosity, commitment, and ongoing support.